Fly Tying Competition at 2013 Iowa State Fair by Larry Murphy


The Hawkeye Fly Fishing Association will again be sponsoring the Fly Tying competition at this
year’s Iowa State Fair. The goal is to provide an opportunity for the public to view the art of fly
tying and to promote fly fishing in Iowa.

There will be three divisions for the competition. An adult division for anyone submitting flies
for judging, 16 years of age and older. The Junior division for anyone submitting flies 16 years
and younger. This year we are adding an Expert division for tiers who have sold flies.
There are four categories for each division. The categories are the following:

• Dry Fly
• Wet Fly/Soft Hackle/Nymph
• Streamers
• Open Class

A person entering the competition needs to be an Iowa resident. You can enter in each of the
categories, but only one fly for each category. If you have ever tied flies commercially or sold
the flies that you have tied, you must enter the Expert Division. If you won a blue ribbon for
one of the categories last year, you are not permitted to enter the same category this year.

The Hawkeye Fly Fishing Association will provide judges for the competition. Ribbons will be
given for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners.

The flies entered will be on display in the DNR building on the Fair Grounds. The display case
that will be used to show case the entries.

Members of HFFA will be demonstrating fly tying during the Fair, in the DNR building.

Please visit the Iowa State Fair website for more details.

To submit fly entries, send your flies to:
Iowa State Fair
Administration Building
Fly Tying Competition
P.O. Box 57130
Des Moines, IA 50317

Each fly enter must have the Fly Tiers name, address, telephone number, name of the fly,
division to be entered and the category. Submission for the Fly Tying competition must be
received by July 31st.

Posted in .